Easy Dinner: Crock Pot Pizza

First off, I have to say that I’m a horrible no good blogger. On the plus side, I’m an excellent burper, diaper changer and song-singer. So you know, I’ve got that going for me.

So today I mentioned on Twitter that I made Crock Pot Pizza for dinner. I immediately got about four or five “wha?” replies, because yeah, that doesn’t sound feasible. At all. I have to say when my sister-in-law-of-awesome mentioned she made it, I had much the same reaction.

So lemme first tell you that it doesn’t have pizza crust. Egg noodles take the place of the crust. The recipe calls for jarred sauce, but I’m going to tell you right now to not be a puss and make your own, and I’ll even provide you my super-easy sauce recipe. Because I’m in a giving mood. Also, this is the basic recipe. As we all know, pizza topping combinations are infinite. So feel free to add your favorites, and even subtract if, say, you’re not a meat eater. I’m betting bell peppers would be great, for instance.

So, here goes:

Crock Pot Pizza

1 package egg noodles

1 pound ground beef or turkey (only if you don’t make my sauce recipe. If you make that, refer to that ingredients list)

1 jar (26 ounces) spaghetti sauce, or 1 batch of my spaghetti sauce

1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning (only if you don’t make my…Yeah, you get it)

1 jar sliced mushrooms, drained  (or 1 cup sliced fresh, which is how I like them)

1/4 cup sliced black olives

1 package sliced pepperoni

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Cook noodles, and cook beef until done, then drain. Stir in the spaghetti sauce and italian seasoning. (If you’re using my recipe, you can skip this whole first step entirely – except for the cooking the noodles part). Drain the noodles. Spray the crock pot with cooking spray, then spread 1/3 of the meat sauce, cover with 1/3 of the noodles, mushrooms, olives and pepperoni. Sprinkle with 1/3 of the cheese. Repeat layers twice. Cover and cook on low for 3-4 hours. Makes 6-8 servings.

Easy Spaghetti Sauce

1 29 oz can of crushed tomatoes
1 29 oz can of tomato puree
1/3 cup Italian seasoning (or 1 tbsp (ish) each of fried oregano, basil
and parsley)
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 tbsp salt
1 pound of Italian sausage (we use turkey Italian sausage. If you’re some kind of wussified mushmouth, I suppose you could also substitute hamburger meat or ground turkey)
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
Optional:
2/3 cup sliced fresh mushrooms (or two cans, drained)
1 small can of sliced olives, drained
2 teaspoons (or less) red pepper flake

In a little olive oil, crumble the Italian sausage and begin browning
over medium heat. Add garlic (and mushrooms, if you’re going to), and
stir for a couple of minutes. Add your cans of tomatoes, and stir again
(the sausage doesn’t need to be done – it is actually better if it
finishes cooking in the sauce). Add the Italian seasoning, salt, the
parmesan cheese, and any of the optional ingredients you want, stir once
more, and then turn the heat down to low. Cover and simmer for at least
30 minutes, but longer if you have the time. Just give it a stir now and
then.

You can also do all of this in the crock pot, and let it cook all day.

This makes a double batch if you’re feeding three or four people, or a
single if you’re feeding 8 or so. It freezes well, too.


					
One Comment

Leave a Reply

