Fairly Darn Easy Baked Hot Wings

I love – I mean, love – hot wings. I used to think  they were too much work to eat, and I still feel that way about things like crawfish, for instance. But suddenly, my favorite thing is a good basket of wings, coated in some throat-searing, spicy sauce that begs for bleu cheese dressing.

But I also have an intense hatred for frying. If someone wants to fry me something, that’s awesome. I love fried food. But doing it myself? Messy. Stupid. Stupid messy. And I always get grease burns and you have to sit there and watch things cook and dude, I have a baby. I can’t watch things cook and watch a baby, especially when that baby has discovered a new-found love of licking electrical cords.

So it was either order them constantly from one of the various wing places in town, put pants on, and go pick them up, or figure out a way to make them without frying.

And yo, I did. And because I’m an extremely nice person, I am going to tell you how.

First, the ingredients for the wings:

1 egg

1 package of wings (Now, you can get the kind that are all broken down to make tiny little wings that you eat in the restaurant that make the regular wings look like you ripped them off a pterodactyl. Or you can get the regular wings. I like the regular wings.)

1/2 cup flour

1 cup Bisquick

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

Preheat your oven to 375. Crack your egg and whisk. Mix the flour, Bisquick, salt, pepper and garlic powder together. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick cooking spray, or (like me) olive oil spray. Then, assembly line it. Dip your wing in the egg, then in the flour mixture, making sure you coat both sides. Place on the cookie sheet. When you’ve coated all the wings, put in the oven for about 20 minutes, then turn over, spraying the sheet again, and giving the flipped wings a nice shot of spray, too, to help them get a little crispier. Bake for another 20-30 minutes, depending on the size of your wings. When done, take out and let sit for 5 minutes.

The sauce:

1 cup barbecue sauce, your choice

2 cups Frank’s Red Hot sauce

Mix them together in a bowl. Then toss your wings in the sauce and plate.

There. Easy-peasy. And, since they’re baking, and you don’t have to watch them, you can use your time for other things, like a rousing game of Peek-A-Boo, or a baby dance party in the living room.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

