Easy Dinner: Verde Chicken and Veggies

I love my slow cooker. Seriously. Pre-baby, it saved my bacon many times when I could just drop something in it in the morning on my way out the door to work, and then come home to a nearly complete meal. While I was pregnant, not having to cook after work was a godsend on those days when all I had energy for was gestating my twelvety hundred pound fetus on the couch. And now? Now it’s wonderful to drop some stuff in the crock pot in the morning after John and I have breakfast, let it cook all day, and then have dinner ready for the entire family.

Now, if you have wee ones, this is a little bit spicy. You might be OK with dicing up the most center part of the chicken breast for them, but I’d shy away from the veggies. Instead, maybe hold some to the side and steam them separately.

Verde Chicken and Veggies

4 frozen boneless chicken breasts

1 cup Herdez Salsa Verde

1/2 cup white onion, diced

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 tbsp cumin

1/2 tbsp chili powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup sliced squash

3 potatoes, washed and sliced

1/2 cup frozen sweet corn

1 cup frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained

Mix salt, cumin and chili powder together. In a 6 quart crock pot, layer in squash, potatoes, spinach and corn, sprinkling each layer with your spice mix and onions and garlic. Arrange chicken on top, and sprinkle with the remaining spice mix, onions and garlic. Pour salsa verde over the top, and cook on low heat for at least 5 hours, if not longer.

I don’t want to tease you, but you should make this even if there’s only one or two of you. Because tomorrow, I’m going to show you something to do with the leftovers that will blow your ever-lovin’ mind.

Leave a Reply

