You, Too, Can Cook With Quinoa

I love quinoa. Seriously. In fact, I’ll go so far to say I like it better than rice. So there. And it’s loaded with protein. But Tiny Hiney certainly had never tried it, and neither had Mr. Not Martha. So when I decided to introduce it to the family, I started looking for recipes that would appeal to a fledgling self-feeder and his daddy.

With a big assist from Becky at So Very Blessed and her Cheesy Quinoa Bites, I had a jumping off point.  From there, I discovered that there were basically three ingredients that were must haves, and the rest was plain tinkering.  The result? Something the husband said I should fix again, and the baby smiled at and exclaimed, “Mmmmmmm.” 

So our first foray into the world of quinoa was a take off of Becky’s recipe.  We used leftover broccoli that I diced up, cheddar cheese, and garlic powder and salt and pepper the first time. Next time we might use squash and colby, or mushrooms and feta. The possibilities are endless, really. I also think you could skew away from savory and go sweet with raisins, brown sugar and cinnamon.

I followed Becky’s basic directions with a few changes. I made 3 cups cooked quinoa, and combined that with the two beaten eggs and the 2 tablespoons flour. Next time, I think I will use another tablespoon of flour if I make the same amount of quinoa, though. So make that a 3:3 ratio on the quinoa and flour.

After that, play with it. Everything else I eyeballed and approximated. About 1/2 a cup of cheese, a cup of chopped broccoli went in. about 2 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of salt, and a little less of pepper.  You may want less veggie, or want to throw in some cooked meat or something. Bake them in mini-muffin tins at 350 like Becky did, or make small patties. If you do patties, you may want to check them and see if they need flipping at the 10 minute mark. I also think I’ll use parchment the next time.

But really, the basic 3 parts of the recipe mean you can get creative. I can even see a breakfast one – sausage, bell peppers and cheese, anyone?

Next week, I’ll tell you about another way to turn this recipe on its ear.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

