Quinoa, Part Two: The Extremely Late Edition

Remember how two weeks ago I told you that quinoa was awesome and easy to cook and gave you a delicious recipe, and then promised to blow your doors off the next week? And then remember how I didn’t?

I’m sorry. In my defense, a lot went on, including Tiny commencing the cutting of six teeth at once. Six. He’s been OK, but only if he’s on my lap, holding on to my arm, or laying his head on my lap.

But I am here this week, and I’m blowing your doors off right now. Swear. But first, a back story. 

See, Mr. Not Martha is a runner. He typically does a few 5- and 10-K races through the year, and maybe one half marathon. We’ve long had these discussions about proper race fuel, and it seems that we keep going back to a portability issue.

And then we have Tiny, who is now two weeks without a bottle. He’s full sippy now, but to make up for that before bed bottle, we had to substitute a snack and another cup of milk before teeth brushing and bed. I’ve done my best to stock up on high-protein, filling snacks for bedtime, but I’m always on the hunt for more. Individual cups of yogurt seemed promising at first, but then I was respectfully asked by Mr. Not Martha to quit sending things that are almost liquid into the nursery with him, since they like to snuggle and eat snack and he was practically wearing all of the yogurt on his sweatshirt.

OK then. Duly noted: Snuggling an 11-month-old and a cup of yogurt do not mix.

So after seeing Becky’s cheesy quinoa bites, and letting my mind run amok, I came up with the variations I showed you a couple weeks ago. Then I began wondering what I could concoct that could possibly turn into both race fuel AND a perfect bedtime snack.

So I give you:

Quinoa Oat Super Fuel Cakes

2 medium very ripe bananas, fork mashed

2 TBSP brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

3 TBSP peanut butter (or almond, if you wanted)

1 1/2 TBSP applesauce (natural, no sugar added, and none of that splenda or whatthecrap)

1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa

2 cups old fashioned oats

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix bananas, sugar, cinnamon, peanut butter and applesauce together, then fold in quinoa and oats. Drop on a foil lined cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Cook for 25 minutes, flipping over at the 20 minute mark.

Now, here’s the part where I experimented further, and learned some stuff. I wanted to add chocolate chips to one batch, because I thought that the addition of semi sweet chocolate chips would make this pretty much a kick ass race fuel. Only, for some reason the chocolate chips (I added 1/2 a bag) made the cakes fall apart. So add about 2 TBSP of wheat flour or rice flour to your mix if you decide to add chocolate chips. Don’t get me wrong – they still taste good, but aesthetically, they’re not as pleasing as the plain cakes were.

But mostly, that’s it. Super easy, and not super sweet. A great pre-race fuel with plenty of protein and carbs, and a great bedtime snack, too. I think next time I make these, I will add some dried fruit – maybe some dried cherries, or blueberries? I will warn you – they may look like an oatmeal cookie sort of, but they are not super sweet. But they’ve gotten the thumbs up from both the males in the house,  so there’s that.

I’m pretty sure these would be great for quick breakfasts on the go, too. I individually bagged ours in sandwich bags.

Leave a Reply

