Gluten Free Pizza Crust

So almost a year ago, I landed in the hospital, pretty darn sick. About that time, after an elimination diet and slowly adding things back in, I discovered a handful of things I just can’t eat. Gluten is one of them.

I’ve done a pretty good job of making my way around these new culinary challenges, I think. I’ve found regular restaurants that can accommodate me, and Dallas now has several GF restaurants, too. I’ve learned to bake without regular flour (I’ll share some of that in weeks to come), and to tell you the truth, I don’t even really miss bread anymore.

But I did miss pizza. And I have had a hard time finding a decent gluten free pizza crust. Pizza at our house is often reserved for a meal where we need to make something in a hurry, or when I want to let John make dinner. There are some great yeast-based crusts out there, but they can be pricey. And it’s not quick.

So I did some tinkering, and monkeyed with the basis for a Pao de Queijo recipe to come up with this. It’s kind of chewier than a regular crust, but I really like it – and it’s a lot cheaper than the ready-made yeast based mixes.

Quick Gluten Free Pizza Crust

1/4 cup flax meal

1/4 cup tapioca flour

1 cup plain coconut milk

1/2 cup shredded cheese (parm, mozz, cheddar, provolone, whatever)

Mix the flax, tapioca flour and milk together until blended. Fold in the cheese. Let sit for about 10 minutes (it helps the flax soak up more of the milk). Pour out onto a parchment-lined pan. Bake in a preheated 400 degree oven for 20 minutes, then flip onto another piece of parchment (peel the original piece off) and bake the other side for about 10 minutes. Put your toppings on, and bake for seven minutes or until the cheese on top is melted.

 

Leave a Reply

